Friday, 24 March 2017


Anchor Capital listing on the JSE
Anchor Group is the most popular stock pick

Julius Cobbett

JOHANNESBURG: Anchor Group, a relatively new listing, is the most popular choice to date in Moneyweb’s annual stock pick competition. Each year Moneyweb runs an informal stock picking competition. At the beginning of the year, community members choose one JSE-listed company. The best performer for the year wins. There are no prizes other than bragging rights.

Last year’s competition was won by Santova Logistics, which increased by 147%.  

Anchor Group, an asset manager, has captured the imaginations of retail investors. Before it listed, in September last year, Anchor raised R60 million by selling 30 million shares at R2 each.

Thursday’s share price of R9.10 – more than four times the pre-listing price – suggests Anchor sold its stock way too cheaply, or that investors are paying much more than they should. Neither scenario bodes too well for investors, considering that it is Anchor’s business to value assets accurately.  

Despite Anchor’s huge increase in price, some readers believe it has what it takes to win the 2015 competition; it is the choice of 15 entrants.

If you want to enter the 2015 competition, it’s not too late. Send your entry to by Sunday, January 18. Every stock pick will receive the closing price on Friday January 16 as its starting point.

The table below shows the picks received so far. Fund manager and market commentator stock picks are still being collated. 

Name Company
Gudani Sivhabu AdaptIT 
Lionel Nieburg Advanced Health
Charles Mitchell Advtech
Michelle Philippides Advtech
Michael van Staden  Afdawn
Youart Tose Afdawn
James Milne Afdawn
Zagryda Nicol Anchor Group
Waldo Brand Anchor Group
Mohammed Essay Anchor Group
Eduardo Silveira Anchor Group
Marco Araujo Anchor Group
Bennie Scheepers Anchor Group
Anil Daya Anchor Group
Edwin Govender Anchor Group
Matt Powell Anchor Group
Marius Bresler Anchor Group
Petrus Meyer Anchor Group
Sakhile Malinga Anchor Group
Kgosi Sefolo  Anchor Group
Koena Setoaba Anchor Group
Olev Taim Anchor Group
Mike Thusi AngloGold Ashanti
Mike Cullabine Ansys 
Lester Davids ArcelorMittal
RW Pedler Aspen
Alan Orchard Aspen
Vuyo Kona Aspen
Japie Bezuidenhout Aspen
Martin Beukes Astral
Nomzamo Phakade Astral 
Timothy Kieswetter Attacq
Jean van Wyk BHP Biliton
Graham Rudings BHP Biliton
Tshiamo Mmolotsi Calgro M3
Hermann Lotter Calgro M3
Ruargh Steyn Cartrack
Ian Kaplan Coal of Africa
Vincent Molele Coal of Africa
Bill Lance Coal of Africa
Brian Ngobese Coal of Africa
Roy Topol Comair
Sa'ad Chothia  Comair
Detlef Winckelmann Comair
Skhumbuzo Mncwabe Comair
Vincent Hoy Comair
Ian Stiglingh Comair
Jan Engelbrecht Convergenet
Deon van Eck Convergenet
Vicky Rossouw CRD Cenrand
Rishad Goonoa CSG
Hendrik Bruwer  Curro
Lieb van Jaarsveld Curro
Joy Cullabine Diamond Corp
Andew Chin Digicore
Brad Hall Digicore
Danie Calitz Ecsponent
Jaco Oosthuizen Efficient Group
Barry Reed Ellies
Grant Haarhoff Ellies
Francois de Villiers Ellies
Jaco Wolmarans Ellies
Dick Skinner Ellies
Marc Davis Ellies
Piet Pretorius Ellies
Muzi Nhlapo Ellies
Ebrahim Nathie Ellies
Gavin Pike Eqstra
Werner Viljoen Eqstra
Paul Eastoe Esor
Tom Gillham Finbond
William Barfoot Finbond
Mitesh Kassanjee Freedom Property Fund
Kobus Duminy Gijima
Peter Nel Gijima
Wayne Mendoza  Glencore
Vikash Singh Glencore
Cyril Sape Gold Fields
David da Silva Gold Fields
ConvergeNet  Graham Jackson
Jan Phillips Grand Parade
Wes Blackmore Grand Parade
Ludwig Kruger Grand Parade
Henry Simpson Harmony
Mike Williams Harmony
Naude du Toit Jubilee Platinum 
James Fraser Jubilee Platinum 
Mohamed Laher Jubilee Platinum 
Kanya Pakati KAP 
Leo Colarossi Keaton Energy
HA Mouton Kumba
Willie de Ath Kumba
Dylan Martin Lewis
Devin Schutte Life Healthcare
Ridwaan Loonat MAS Real Estate
Lerata Mofokeng Metair
Rickus Norval Mix Telematics
Martin Bekker Morvest
Barry Wickins  Mr Price Group
Jason Chin MRI
Stuart Martin Murray & Roberts
Hugh Courtney Naspers
Veenesh Jivan Naspers
Victor Nkambule New Europe Property 
Robbie Costa Niveus
Linda Smet NMG Benefits
Rudy Onia OneLogix Group
Barry Wiseman OneLogix Group
Andrew Miller OneLogix Group
Mandlenkosi Mthembu OneLogix Group
John Harris Pallinghurst
Devi Pillai Pan African Resources
Adriaan van der Walt Pan African Resources
Herman Nel Pan African Resources
Higgo van Biljon Pan African Resources
Philip Fraser Pan African Resources
David Nowitz Peregrine
Moosa Bux Pinnacle Holdings
Tapiwa Muranda Poynting
Trevor Wall PPC
Mike Thomson Prescient
Richard Ball Prescient
Derek Gabriels Prescient
Talita van Eeden Prescient
Chuma Koyana  PSG
Gordon Gair Purple Group
Brendon Fiddes Purple Group
Maria van Wyk Quantum Foods
Barry Naicker Quantum Foods
Ian Bredahl RBA Holdings
Craig du Plessis Richemont
Martin Vosloo Richemont
Marc Talpert Rockcastle
Eric Parker Rockcastle
Leon Jacobson SABMiller
Greg King Sacoil
Evan Ongley Sacoil
Graham Hains Sacoil
Andrew Mackenzie Sacoil
Zaheer Chothia Safari
Avinash Andhee Santova Logistics
Jennifer Raath Santova Logistics
Ismail Essack Santova Logistics
Francois Marais Santova Logistics
Fabioh Busby Sasol
Francois Davel Sasol
John Wewege Sasol
Douglas Mjekula Sasol
Trevor de Souza Sasol
John Archer Sasol
Guy Macqueen Sasol
Cilliers vd Bank Sasol
Abdul Bassa Sasol
Gerrit Boonstra Sasol
Rohan Van Dyk Sasol
Pooven Naidoo Sasol
Gielie Swart Sasol
Sophonia Matlabo Sasol
Craig Gradidge Sasol BEE Ordinary
Themba Sweet Satrix Resi
Werner Kuhl SBAOIL
Alan Singer Sekunjalo Investments
Neil Crafford-Lazarus Sephaku 
Jarred Noche Sephaku 
Hitesh Kesa Shoprite
Arthur Marriner Shoprite
James Howard Sirius
Erna Steytler Steinhoff
Espe du Plessis Steinhoff
Shaun Slabber Steinhoff
Ted van Heerden Steinhoff
Rashad Shade Steinhoff
Thiru-Nesagan Chetty Steinhoff
Antony Londt Steinhoff
Bernice van Staaden Steinhoff
David Talpert Steinhoff
Charl Keet Super Group
Pule Nhlapo Super Group
Njabulo Buthelezi Super Group
Craig Leach Taste
Manqoba Madinane Telkom
Samantha Pauwels Torre
Pierre Meyer Torre
Ed Kerby Transaction Capital
Nic Bradley Trustco
Nik Selic Trustco
Anton Kriel Value
Peter Darroll Wescoal
Lindile Ntsaluba Wescoal
Ahmed Paruk Wescoal
Antony Brady Wesizwe
Jan van der Merwe Wesizwe
Appie Maritz Zeder
Henk Theron Zeder
Darius Els Zeder
Thomas Blamey Zeder
Brian Reid Zeder

Moneyweb Staff
Name Company
Hilton Tarrant Adcock Ingram
Patrick Cairns Afrocentric
Tracy Parsons Anchor Group
Tracy Wade Curro
Sunshine Motlhabane EOH
Julius Cobbett Impala Platinum 
Marc Ashton Moneyweb
Barbara Mazaris Naspers
Hezekiel Mafokwane Old Mutual
Ryk van Niekerk Steinhoff
Back to Top